Last Updated on November 1, 2023 by Katrina
In any situation, it is stressful to get pulled over for speeding. But it gets even more nerve-wracking when it happens to you while you’re driving in a rental car. Here’s what happens if you get a speeding ticket in Illinois, and what you should do right afterward.
How Much Are Speeding Fines in Illinois?
In Illinois, the speed limit depends on where you’re driving. You can drive 20 mph in a school zone, 30 on urban distract roadways. The limit is 65 on state highways and 70 in interstate highways. The penalties, meanwhile, are based on how far beyond the speed limit you were driving.
Expect a fine of $120 for going up to 20 mph over the limit. That goes up to $140 for 21-25 mph over the limit. If you go 26-34 mph over the limit, you could be looking at up to six months in jail and up to $1,500 in fines. Alternatively, the penalty could be one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines for 35 mph or more over the limit.
While those rules apply to the whole state, a few areas carry their own risks for tickets. The towns with the most speed traps, according to the National Speed Trap Exchange, are Springfield, Rockfield, Peoria, and Chicago.
How to Handle a Speeding Ticket in a Rental
While parking tickets and toll violations are typically tied to the vehicle, a speeding ticket is tied to the driver. If a police officer pulls you over, you’ll be able to handle the fine on your own—possibly without the rental company ever finding out. From there, you can pay the fine or fight it. Going to traffic school or taking a defensive driving course online may also be an option for avoiding points on your record.
There is one way the rental company could find out about the issue. If a speed camera takes a photo of the plate, the rental company would be notified of the fine—and pass on to you at a later date with an added fee. If you receive a notice in the mail about a fine triggered by a speed camera, pay it immediately to avoid dealing with collections agencies or you could end up on the Do Not Rent list.
How to Pay a Speeding Ticket in Illinois
When you are issued a ticket in Illinois, you get three options for dealing with it: Pay it and accept points on your license; accept it along with “court supervision;” or contest it and go to court. As an out-of-towner, your best bet will likely be the “court supervision” option, where you can usually take a defensive driving class online and avoid points added to your license.