Last Updated on November 1, 2023 by Kirstin
It’s never fun to get pulled over for speeding, even less so when it happens to you while you’re driving in a rental car. Here’s what you should do if you get a speeding ticket in Pennsylvania.
How Much Are Speeding Fines in Pennsylvania?
Traffic ticket fines are uniform throughout Pennsylvania. This means a speeding is penalized the same, whether you are fined in Bucks County or in Erie.
For posted speed limits under 65 mph, drivers pay a minimum $35 for exceeding it. This would apply to driving in an urban area with speed limits of 35 mph, 25 mph in a residential district or other areas where the speed limit is 55 mph.
For posted speed limits 65 mph or higher, the fine starts at $42.50. Pennsylvania highways often have speed limits of 65 mph and 70 mph.
Fines increase by $2 per mile if you are speeding by more than 5 mph over the posted limit. So if you’re going 10 miles over the 65 mph speed limit, you’d pay an extra $10.
How to Handle a Speeding Ticket in a Rental
Unlike parking tickets and toll violations, which are typically tied to the vehicle, a speeding ticket is generally tied to the driver. If a police officer pulls you over, you’ll be able to handle the fine on your own. There’s a good possibly the rental company won’t ever find out. From there, you can pay the fine or fight it. Going to traffic school or taking a defensive driving course online may also be an option for avoiding points on your record.
There is one way the rental company could find out about the issue. Getting caught by a speed camera that takes a photo of the plate would mean that the rental company would be notified of the fine—and pass on to you at a later date with an added fee. If you receive a notice in the mail about a fine triggered by a speed camera, pay it immediately to avoid dealing with collections agencies or you could end up on the Do Not Rent list.
How to Pay a Speeding Ticket in Pennsylvania
You’ll have to pay for a speeding ticket in Pennsylvania even if you don’t live there, as states disclose out-of-state violations to one another. The quickest way to handle the ticket is to pay for it as soon as possible by following the directions printed on the ticket itself, which usually includes information for paying online or by phone. You can also pay in person at the court denoted on the ticket.
If you choose to contest the ticket, you will have to do so with the specific Pennsylvania municipality that oversees the traffic laws where you were driving—not the rental car company. In some cases you may be able to do this online. That information will be available through the same municipal court listed on your ticket. However, going this route could require showing up in court and paying additional fees in the long run.